The internet's largest free database of literary agents









QUICK AGENT SEARCH


FULL SEARCH

SEARCH TIPS





AQ SUCCESS STORIES

SUCCESSFUL QUERIES

JOIN AGENTQUERY CONNECT


BLOG ROLL

FORMATTING TIPS

GENRE DESCRIPTIONS

AGENT LIST


ABOUT AGENT QUERY

MISSION STATEMENT

CONTACT AQ

HOME


Full Agent Profile: Peter McGuigan



NAME

Peter McGuigan

AGENCY
Foundry Literary + Media
AAR MEMBER
No
EMAIL
pmsubmissions@foundrymedia.com
AGENCY WEB SITE
http://www.foundrymedia.com/



FICTION GENRES
Literary Fiction | Commercial Fiction | Humor/Satire | Thrillers/Suspense | Offbeat/Quirky
NONFICTION GENRES

History | Celebrity | Biography | Food & Lifestyle | Science | Drama/Music | Memoirs | Adventure/True Story | Pop Culture | Narrative | Nature/Ecology | Pets | Humor | Journalism

CURRENT STATUS
  • This agent accepts queries
  • MORE INFORMATION

    SPECIAL INTERESTS
    • Drawn to smart, offbeat non-fiction, particularly works of narrative non-fiction on pop culture niche history, biography, music and science as well as controversial & provacative authors and subjects
    • He also represents novelists, both commercial and literary, across all genres, especially first-time writers.
    • Peter is a wide-ranging pop culture lover, and this shows in his client list.
    DOES NOT REPRESENT

    SUBMISSION GUIDELINES

    FACTS/TIDBITS
    • http://www.foundrymedia.com/team/peter
    • Peter studied creative writing, journalism and literature at Virginia Tech and Virginia Commonwealth University and has a degree in English. He is fond of saying he began his publishing career outside of the mail room, working as a bike messenger, then in bookstores and as a musician before landing a job as an assistant at a small agency. He quickly became involved in foreign rights, and international publishing remains his passion. Five years working in corporate publishing convinced Peter that he was an independent at heart, and he took a job at Sanford J. Greenburger Associates, where he began developing his own diverse client list and worked with international Bestselling authors such as Dan Brown and Nicholas Sparks. In 2007, Peter and his business partner Yfat Reiss Gendell launched Foundry Literary + Media, where he continues to develop and nurture writers.
    EDUCATION
    • Studied at Virginian Tech and Virginia Commonwealth University


    NEW DEALS
    Fiction | Thrillers/Suspense
    Former mercenary and corporate strategist Sean McFate and Bret Witter's THE DISPENSABLE MAN, the first in a new series featuring an American mercenary who's the epitome of the modern military hero, a highly trained but conflicted professional, fighting in the shadows on a top-secret mission in Europe, pitched as being in the vein of Silva, LeCarre, Clancy, and Flynn, to David Highfill at William Morrow, in a pre-empt, for publication in 2016, by Peter McGuigan at Foundry Literary + Media (NA).

    Non-Fiction | Memoirs
    Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Mary Carter Bishop's THE FLY ON THE OX HORN: A Memoir of Servitude, Shame and a Lonely Bastard Boy, in which a boy, conceived in a woodshed with a stranger, is abandoned by his young mother when her love child, a daughter, comes along ten years later; the boy turns feral, lives in the woods, raiding the pantries of the local elite until he goes too far and is shipped off to a notorious mental hospital; half-brother and sister reunite in midlife to fill in the blanks in three very different narratives, their own and their mother's; set against the backdrop of uber-wealthy Keswick, Virginia -pitched as an American Downton Abbey, to Claire Wachtel at Harper, in a good deal, in a pre-empt, by Peter McGuigan at Foundry Literary + Media.

    Fiction | Thrillers/Suspense
    Vicki Pettersson's SWERVE, in which a medical professional goes head-to-head against an unpredictable killer, and has only twenty-four hours to find her abducted fiance somewhere in the searing Mojave Desert, to Ed Schlesinger at Gallery, in a good deal, for publication in Summer 2015, by Peter McGuigan at Foundry Literary + Media (US).

    Non-Fiction | Biography
    Lukas Prize-winning journalist, Nieman Fellow and author of the forthcoming Factory Man, Beth Macy's TRUEVINE, the story of two young African-American sharecroppers in the Jim Crow South who were kidnapped, conscripted into the circus, and separated from their mother for 28 years -- and how she fought to win them back, again to John Parsley at Little, Brown, by Peter McGuigan at Foundry Literary + Media (NA).

    Fiction | Literary Fiction
    NEA-winner Jim Ruland's FORESTS OF FORTUNE, following three haunted souls - an alcoholic, an epileptic and a gambling addict - who struggle to turn their luck around at a decrepit Indian casino, to Benjamin LeRoy at Tyrus Books, in a nice deal, for publication in August 2014, by Peter McGuigan at Foundry Literary + Media (NA).

    Non-Fiction | Memoirs
    Author of LA Times opinion piece "An Open Letter to the Makers of The Wolf of Wall Street, and the Wolf Himself" Christina McDowell's untitled story of a family torn apart by one man's greed and wanton pursuit of material gain and how it permanently altered the lives of his wife and three daughters after her father, Tom Prousalis, went to prison for stock fraud, to Alison Callahan in her first acquisition for Gallery, for publication in Spring 2015, by Peter McGuigan at Foundry Literary + Media (NA).

    PAST/PRESENT CLIENTS



    LINKS
    PREVIOUS AGENCIES
    Sanford J. Greenburger Associates