The internet's largest free database of literary agents









QUICK AGENT SEARCH


FULL SEARCH

SEARCH TIPS





AQ SUCCESS STORIES

SUCCESSFUL QUERIES

JOIN AGENTQUERY CONNECT


BLOG ROLL

FORMATTING TIPS

GENRE DESCRIPTIONS

AGENT LIST


ABOUT AGENT QUERY

MISSION STATEMENT

CONTACT AQ

HOME


Full Agent Profile: Caren Johnson Estesen



NAME

Caren Johnson Estesen

AGENCY
Caren Johnson Literary Agency
AAR MEMBER
No
EMAIL
johnsonlitagency@gmail.com
AGENCY WEB SITE
http://www.johnsonlitagency.com/



FICTION GENRES
Women's Fiction | Romance | Young Adult | Multi-Cultural | Erotica | Middle Grade
NONFICTION GENRES

History | Biography | Multi-Cultural | Memoirs | Women's Issues | Pop Culture | Narrative | Health & Fitness | Cultural/Social Issues | Gift Books

CURRENT STATUS
  • This agent is closed to queries
  • MORE INFORMATION

    SPECIAL INTERESTS
    • Caren Johnson Estesen is looking for up-market women’s fiction featuring younger heroines (18-35 range), YA, historical and contemporary romance, erotica, history (particularly on WWII and the Cold War), social sciences, pop science and health
    • Currently, she's on the lookout for nonfiction in the areas of pop culture, quirky gift books, narrative nonfiction, literary trivia, and women’s interest (though no self-help).
    • She's is also actively seeking YA in the vein of Libba Bray, Scott Westerfeld, Ann Brashares, Sarah Dessen, Jay Asher, Holly Black, Markus Zusack, Lisa Klein and Frank Beddor.
    • She handles romance (particularly romantic comedy and contemporary romance), mystery (including cozy), women’s fiction, YA, commercial fiction and narrative nonfiction
    • She is interested in Latino-based fiction (particularly women's fiction & mysteries)
    • In terms of nonfiction, she is "looking for narrative driven books that tell a great story, but are true."
    DOES NOT REPRESENT
    • She does NOT represent picture books, thriller/horror, or poetry
    • Please don’t send any paranormal romance or romantic suspense her way (her client list is full with these genres.)
    SUBMISSION GUIDELINES

    FACTS/TIDBITS
    EDUCATION


    NEW DEALS
    PAST/PRESENT CLIENTS
    The Devil's Mambo
    Author:   Jerry A. Rodriguez
    Genres:   Mystery | Thrillers/Suspense | Multi-Cultural
    Publisher:   Kensington Trade Paper (April 24, 2007)
    An erotic debut neo-noir crime fiction series, featuring a Latino ex-homicide detective
    View book at Amazon

    Real Women Don't Wear Size 2
    Author:   Kelley St. John
    Genres:   Chick Lit
    Publisher:   Warner
    Pleasingly plump sales clerk Clarise Robinson is turning 30, and she's decided that it's time to set her wild side free at the raucous, rowdy Gasparilla Pirate Festival, Tampa's version of the Mardi Gras, where she's promised herself she'll let her inhibitions go, which includes doing something about her secret crush on Ethan Eubanks, co-owner of Eubanks Elegant apparel, the upscale clothing store where she works.
    View book at Amazon

    Adios to My Old Life
    Author:   Caridad Ferrer
    Genres:   Young Adult | Multi-Cultural
    Publisher:   MTV (July 4, 2006)
    Ali Montero, 17, has been brought up by her father, a music professor in Miami, to be a good Cuban American girl as well as a talented singer and guitarist. But he's not pleased when she makes the finals in a nationwide TV competition to find the "next Latin superstar," and now, Ali must find her way through the competition with the help of cute Jaime Lozano, a smart production major from NYU, who helps her learn that all a girl really needs is love, laughter, and a rocking guitar
    View book at Amazon

    It's Not About the Accent
    Author:   Caridad Ferrer
    Genres:   Young Adult | Multi-Cultural
    Publisher:   MTV (August 21, 2007)
    Sick and tired of her life in small-town Ohio, college-bound Caroline Darcy is determined to start fresh...as a new person, which includes adopting an exotic Latina facade by invoking her witty and vibrant Cuban great-grandmother glamorous, well-traveled past; but when Cuban "Carolina" gets in over her head, she soon learns that being boring old Caroline is way more exciting than she ever could have imagined
    View book at Amazon

    You Are So Undead to Me
    Author:   Stacey Jay
    Genres:   Young Adult
    Publisher:   Razorbill (January 22, 2009)
    Megan Berry is a Zombie Settler by birth, which means she's part-time shrink to a whole bunch of semi-dead people with killer issues. All Megan really wants is to go to homecoming, but when you're trailed by a bunch of slobbering corpses whenever you leave the house, it's kinda hard to score a date. Let's just say Megan's love life could use some major resuscitation. Megan's convinced her life can't get any worse - until someone in school starts using black magic to turn average, angsty Undead into scary, hardcore flesh-eating Zombies. Now it's up to Megan to stop the Zombie apocalypse. Her life - and more importantly, the homecoming dance - depends on it.
    View book at Amazon

    The Marshal Takes a Bride (The Charity House Series #1) (Steeple Hill Love Inspired Historical)
    Author:   Renee Ryan
    Genres:   Romance
    Publisher:   Steeple Hill (February 10, 2009)
    U.S. Marshal Trey Scott is fixin' to walk down the aisle just as soon as his stubborn bride-to-be agrees to say "I do." Katherine Taylor's five-year-old sister and an orphanage full of children are depending on her. So why won't the pretty schoolteacher marry him to save her tarnished reputation? Granted, Trey isn't willing to abandon his quest to avenge his first wife's murder. His name alone will protect Katherine until he returns, but she thinks he should leave vengeance to a higher power. Will the sacrifice demanded by the woman he loves be too great to bear...or will it be Trey's ultimate redemption?
    View book at Amazon

    Skin Deep
    Author:   Anna J. Evans
    Genres:   Erotica
    Publisher:   NAL Trade (July 7, 2009)
    When she's kidnapped from the bar where she works, Nicky has to admit that she's strangely aroused. She always knew her possessive ex-lover Jackson Bledsoe, a notoriously famous tattoo artist, had a kinky side. But even for him, this was wild. Jackson has his reasons. He and Nicky both share the same tattoo--a fallen angel that became even more than just part of their skin. Now, there is only one way for Jackson to rid himself of his obsession with her.
    View book at Amazon

    Ballads of Suburbia
    Author:   Stephanie Kuehnert
    Genres:   Young Adult
    Publisher:   MTV (July 21, 2009)
    Kara hasn't been back to Oak Park since the end of junior year, when a heroin overdose nearly killed her and sirens heralded her exit. Four years later, she returns to face the music. Her life changed forever back in high school: her family disintegrated, she ran around with a whole new crowd of friends, she partied a little too hard, and she fell in love with gorgeous bad-boy Adrian, who left her to die that day in Scoville Park....Amid the music, the booze, the drugs, and the drama, her friends filled a notebook with heartbreakingly honest confessions of the moments that defined and shattered their young lives. Now, finally, Kara is ready to write her own.
    View book at Amazon

    How to Be a Hepburn in a Hilton World: The Art of Living with Style, Class, and Grace
    Author:   Jordan Christy
    Genres:   Women's Issues | Pop Culture
    Publisher:   Center Street (August 13, 2009)
    Christy shows women how in this guide to glamorous style, professional success and true love...the classy way. Full of fun assignments, notable names and real-life examples, Christy offers a new look at seemingly 'old fashioned' advice. She covers diet, speech, work ethic, friends, relationships, manners, makeup and fashionable yet modest clothing, showing modern ladies how they can be beautiful, intelligent and fun while retaining values and morals.
    View book at Amazon




    LINKS
    http://www.publishersmarketplace.com/members/carenjohnson/
    This is her webpage on PublishersMarketplace
    http://www.johnsonliterary.com/blog/
    This is Caren Johnson's blog
    This is an interview with Caren Johnson
    http://www.writingplayground.com/sandboxarchive.html#caren
    This is an interview with Caren Johnson on American Chronicle
    http://www.americanchronicle.com/articles/74404
    PREVIOUS AGENCIES
    Peter Rubie Literary Agency Ltd.
    Firebrand Literary Agency