Full Agent Profile: Henry Dunow



NAME

Henry Dunow

AGENCY
Dunow, Carlson & Lerner Literary Agency
AAR MEMBER
Yes
EMAIL
henry@dclagency.com
AGENCY WEB SITE
http://dclagency.com



FICTION GENRES
Literary Fiction | Women's Fiction | Historical Fiction | Short Stories | Offbeat/Quirky | Graphic Novels
NONFICTION GENRES

History | Multi-Cultural | Narrative

CURRENT STATUS
  • This agent accepts queries
  • MORE INFORMATION

    SPECIAL INTERESTS
    • Specializes in literary fiction and "writerly" nonfiction
    • Often represents works with familiar themes but off-beat, unconventional stories and characters
    DOES NOT REPRESENT

    SUBMISSION GUIDELINES

    FACTS/TIDBITS
    • Agency changed its name in Feb 2005 from Dunow & Carlson Literary Agency to Dunow, Carlson & Lerner with the addition of Betsy Lerner as partner
    • His client list includes Alice Sebold, Elizabeth McCracken, Kevin Baker, and Aimee Bender
    • Author of a memoir, THE WAY HOME: Scenes from a Season, Lessons from a Lifetime
    EDUCATION


    NEW DEALS
    PAST/PRESENT CLIENTS
    The Lovely Bones: A Novel
    Author:   Alice Sebold
    Genres:   Commercial Fiction
    Publisher:   Little, Brown; 1st edition (July 3, 2002)
    14-year-old Susie Salmon is brutally raped and murdered, the latest victim of a serial killer--the man she knew as her neighbor, Mr. Harvey, and narrates the novel from heaven where she keeps watch over her grieving family and friends, as well as her brazen killer and the sad detective working on her case
    View book at Amazon

    The Girl in the Flammable Skirt: Stories
    Author:   Aimee Bender
    Genres:   Literary Fiction | Short Stories
    Publisher:   Bantam Doubleday Dell Publishing Group; 1st ed edition (August 1, 1998)
    16 stories that portray a world twisted on its axis: a grief-stricken librarian decides to have sex with every man who enters her library; a woman falls in love with a hunchback, but when his deformity turns out to be a prosthesis, she leaves him; a wife, whose husband returns home injuried from the war, struggles with the question, "Can she still love a man who has no lips?"
    View book at Amazon

    A Young Man's Guide to Late Capitalism
    Author:   Peter Mountford
    Genres:   Literary Fiction
    Publisher:   Mariner Books (April 12, 2011)
    In the tradition of Martin Amis, Joshua Ferris, and Sam Lipsyte—set against the stunning mountainous backdrop of La Paz and interspersed with Bolivia’s sad history of stubborn survival—this novel examines the critical choices a young man makes as his world closes in on him.
    View book at Amazon

    Do Not Deny Me: Stories
    Author:   Jean Thompson
    Genres:   Short Stories
    Publisher:   Simon & Schuster; Original edition (June 9, 2009)

    View book at Amazon

    The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake: A Novel
    Author:   Aimee Bender
    Genres:   Literary Fiction
    Publisher:   Doubleday; 1 edition (June 1, 2010)
    Young, needy Rose Edelstein can literally taste the emotions of whoever prepares her food, giving her unwanted insight into other people's secret emotional lives—including her mother's, whose lemon cake betrays a deep dissatisfaction.
    View book at Amazon




    LINKS
    PREVIOUS AGENCIES
    Henry Dunow Literary Agency