Full Agent Profile: Deborah Grosvenor



NAME

Deborah Grosvenor

AGENCY
Grosvenor Literary Agency
AAR MEMBER
No
EMAIL
submissions@grosvenorlit.com
AGENCY WEB SITE
http://grosvenorlit.com/



FICTION GENRES
Literary Fiction | Commercial Fiction | Humor/Satire | Historical Fiction | Military/Espionage | Offbeat/Quirky
NONFICTION GENRES

History | Biography | Politics | Science | Memoirs | Adventure/True Story | Current Affairs | Business | Pop Culture | Narrative | Nature/Ecology | Military | Journalism

CURRENT STATUS
  • This agent accepts queries
  • MORE INFORMATION

    SPECIAL INTERESTS
    • She handles commercial and literary fiction and nonfiction, with an emphasis on history, biography, politics, current affairs, memoirs, popular culture and style, business, and science
    • She is also interested in adventure, exploration, the environment, baseball, the Middle East, the military, science, and the American South.
    • For fiction, she is simply looking for great storytelling, especially in an historical context
    DOES NOT REPRESENT

    SUBMISSION GUIDELINES

    FACTS/TIDBITS
    • Discovered Tom Clancy's book THE HUNT FOR RED OCTOBER while working as an acquisitions editor the Naval Institute Press
    • Her client list includes nationally prominent writers, New York Times bestselling authors, and Pulitzer Prize-winners, among them Stephen Coonts, Eleanor Clift, Morton Kondracke, Susan McDougal, Elizabeth Pryor, Aaron Miller, Curtis Wilkie, and Nina Burleigh.
    EDUCATION
    • Graduate of the University of Virginia


    NEW DEALS
    Memoirs
    Ultramarathoner and star of the Matt Damon-produced documentary Running the Sahara, Charlie Engle's RUNNING MAN, charting his global feats of athleticism, decade-long addiction to crack, and ultimate redemption after a stint in federal prison, to Shannon Welch at Scribner, at auction, by Deborah Grosvenor at Grosvenor Literary Agency (World)

    Memoirs | Humor
    Oxford American humor columnist Harrison Key's THE WORLD'S LARGEST MAN, a humorous but tender account of growing up in Mississippi with a hunting, shooting, larger-than-life father, then returning to the South as an adult and finding himself turning into something more like his father than he might have expected, to Cal Morgan at Harper, at auction, by Deborah Grosvenor at Grosvenor Literary Agency (NA).

    Food & Lifestyle | Politics | Memoirs
    Nora Pouillon, written with Laura Fraser's NORA: AN ORGANIC LIFE, the story of the celebrated chef -- founder of the country's first organic restaurant (Restaurant Nora in Washington, DC) -- who has been a pioneer and tireless advocate for the organic and local food movements since the 1970s, to Paul Bogaards and Lexy Bloom at Knopf, by Deborah Grosvenor at Grosvenor Literary Agency (world).

    PAST/PRESENT CLIENTS
    Unholy Business: A True Tale of Faith, Greed and Forgery in the Holy Land
    Author:   Nina Burleigh
    Genres:   History | Religion
    Publisher:   Collins (October 21, 2008)
    Shrewd and piquant journalist Burleigh, whose last book, Mirage (2007), offers fresh insights into the discovery of the Rosetta stone, tells the full story behind one of the “greatest hoaxes of all times,” the ancient stone box that was presented to the world in 2002 as the ossuary that held the bones of Jesus’ brother, James
    View book at Amazon

    Brothers in Arms: The Kennedys, the Castros, and the Politics of Murder
    Author:   Gus Russo, Stephen Molton
    Genres:   History | Politics
    Publisher:   Bloomsbury USA; 1 edition (October 28, 2008)
    The recent release of a treasure trove of documents from the National Archives and a German TV network’s underwriting of new international research form the backbone for this reopening of a lingering question surrounding the Kennedy assassination: Was Castro behind Lee Harvey Oswald’s act?
    View book at Amazon

    An Honorable German
    Author:   Charles McCain
    Genres:   Historical Fiction | Military/Espionage
    Publisher:   Grand Central Publishing (May 28, 2009)
    In the tradition of Das Boot and The Hunt for Red October comes a sweeping saga of World War II, featuring a heroic and conflicted German U-Boat commander.
    View book at Amazon

    The Much Too Promised Land: America's Elusive Search for Arab-Israeli Peace
    Author:   Aaron David Miller
    Genres:   Politics
    Publisher:   Bantam; Reprint edition (December 30, 2008)
    In this extraordinary account of 20 years on the front lines of Arab-Israeli peacemaking, career diplomat Miller provides an impressively candid appraisal of Middle East peace efforts.
    View book at Amazon

    Magic and Mayhem: Why America Has Failed at Three Wars in a Row and How to Avoid Fiasco Next Time
    Author:   Derek Leebaert
    Genres:   Politics | Military
    Publisher:   Simon & Schuster (September 7, 2010)
    As the nation commits itself to a renewed military effort in Afghanistan, Leebaert explains why we have so often stumbled in our foreign policy.
    View book at Amazon

    The Unwritten Rules of Baseball: The Etiquette, Conventional Wisdom, and Axiomatic Codes of Our National Pastime
    Author:   Paul Dickson
    Genres:   Sports
    Publisher:   Harper (March 24, 2009)
    From beanballs to basebrawls, the most important rules governing the game of baseball have never been officially written down—until now.
    View book at Amazon

    Being Dead is No Excuse: The Official Southern Ladies Guide to Hosting the Perfect Funeral
    Author:   Gayden Metcalfe, Charlotte Hayes
    Genres:   Food & Lifestyle | Cookbooks | Humor
    Publisher:   Hyperion
    A cookbook and humorous guide to the recipes, rituals, customs and etiquette of funerals in the south, including hilarious anecdotes from southern funerals.





    LINKS
    http://webdelsol.com/Algonkian/Classes/interview-DeborahGrosvenor.htm
    Interview with Deborah Grosvenor about discovering Tom Clancy
    http://www.writersdigest.com/editor-blogs/guide-to-literary-agents/agent-advice-deborah-grosvenor-of-grosvenor-literary-agency
    Interview with Deborah Grosvenor about the craft of writing
    http://publishersmarketplace.com/members/DeborahGrosvenor/
    PREVIOUS AGENCIES
    Grosvenor Literary Agency (old address)
    Grosvenor Literary Agency (old address)
    Kneerim & Williams at Fish & Richardson
    Kneerim & Williams Literary Agency